Afternoon Hype! Detroit Underground

With the fourth installment of Detroit Week I thought I’d try and educate myself as well as you the reader and listen to some of the bands who’s names I’ve heard along the way but never really bought into full time for whatever reasons. Pretty happy with my discoveries…

First up is Bantam Rooster, a two piece that origininated in Lansing, Mi. back in about 1994. Signed on with Crypt Records and released Deal me In and The Cross and The Switchblade before putting the great Fuck All Y’all out on Sympathy For The Record Industry.

 

Next up is Rocket 455. Seems like all sorts of Detroit folk played with these guys at one time or another. As far as I can tell they have one full length on Get Hip Records called Go To Hell along with an EP and some songs on different compilations, singles etc. This is raw Detroit rock and roll, lots of sweat and presumably lots of blood….

 

And these guys I hadn’t even heard of til earlier this afternoon but holy shit this song is crazy. This is a band I would’ve gone to see once a week in my 20’s just to see what happened. Actually, I’d probably still do that today. Primal rock and roll noise machine. Just read they had a penchant for chaos and getting tossed out/banned from clubs they played. Yeah, no shit. I will be finding more…..

 

All these bands will be featured in a new doc called It Came From Detroit, who’s worldwide release could use a bit of your help. Check out their Kickstarter right here. Immediately.

 

 

Categories: Morning Hype! | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

