Brick Background Top Ten Albums of 2012 (Part 1 of 2)

It’s tough to complain about 2012’s quality after going through everything I’ve acquired in the past twelve months to compile this list and finding 28 albums that could have potentially made the final cut. But this isn’t the top 28 of 2012 it’s the top ten. The following albums just sounded a little better and got played a little more than the rest. I’ve also already heard three great albums from last year in the past week, just by checking out others top ten lists. Like I said, tough to complain. Here’s hoping you can find something on this list that can be added to your own personal 2012 collection. Feel free to comment with your own personal best of 2012 or simply just to insult/question my well being. Bison B.C. into Alabama Shakes? Weirdo… Cheers!

 

10.  Bison B.C. – Lovelessness

Easily my favorite Vancouver live act and arguably my all time favorite Vancouver band, Bison B.C. keep adding great albums to their repertoire, and Lovelessness, with a new producer and a new drummer, easily puts itself at the top of their released material. I don’t always listen to seriously heavy metal, but when I do….

 

 

 

 

9. King Tuff – self titled

After getting turned onto King Tuff through hearing Kyle Thomas’ lyrical performance with J. Mascis’s stoner side project Witch, I was immediately taken aback by the folky, breezy nature of their first album “was dead”. Their second release though, comes through a little bit louder with maybe a bit better production, and the results had me strutting the streets of Philly all summer long. If you like weed, the dog days of summer and guitars, you’ll probably like this.

 

 

 

8. Alabama Shakes – Boys and Girls

The hype was high for this Athens, Alabama quartet, with an outstanding  EP and opening slot on Jack White’s first solo tour surely contributing to the massive springtime buzz. They didn’t shy away with their first full length though, writing some masterful Southern rock and soul and honing their live chops with a seemingly never ending slate of shows, proving that not only are they here and worth the hype, but that they don’t plan on going anywhere anytime soon either. Music will be better for it.

 

 

 

7. Riverboat Gamblers – The Wolf You Feed

I have to admit that I had basically turned my back on these guys, my dislike for them growing with each album released after the fantastically sloppy “Something To Crow About”  but after having to ask what was on the turntable three different times during three different trips to the local record store and getting the same answer each time, I bit the proverbial bullet and got myself a copy. One of the most pleasant surprises of the year, it turns out that some pop punk is still listenable and that I still actually want to listen to it. Who knew?

 

 

6. Mind Spiders – Meltdown

Two drummers! Crazy good new wave garage punk from Denton, Texas, this album probably would’ve placed higher on the list if it had been released later in the year. I played it so much in the first couple months of 2012 that I forced a self imposed exile upon it. Revisited the LP  this past fall and still loved it, but find myself a bit bitter due to their apparent refusal to play in Philly. Solid album nonetheless.  This video sets the entire albums tone perfectly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Good Times | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

